top of page
THE BOSS

Boy Mom 

Twin Mom

Wife

Believer

Mixed Family

Coffee Lover

Target & Yoga Pants Enthusiast

  • Writer's pictureSteff

The Secret I Needed to Keep

The thing about IVF and all the incredibly meticulous timing, is that any element of surprise is lost.  Family and close friends that knew we were going through IVF all knew it was (hopefully) coming so none of them would be surprised when we shared the good news.  They'd be happy, of course, but not surprised.  I needed something.  Something to hang on to that was just ours.  Something I could control.  Something that could be a surprise.

We decided we wouldn't tell anyone that we transferred two embryos and definitely wouldn't tell anyone that we were pregnant with twins.  Yes, I realize that people who carry multiples get visibly bigger and have increased risk of complications that would've blown the secret early, but I really needed to have a secret to keep so it worked for me—haha.

We had originally planned to keep the secret until the twins were born, but that was before I discovered my husband is physically incapable of keeping a secret.  With as many people as RJ had told, someone was bound to congratulate my mom at the supermarket or church any day; we decided we'd better fess up.

With Mother's Day approaching, it would be the perfect time to stage a gender reveal party and share our secret!  With our family and a few close friends around, we spilled the beans.  There were tears of joy all around! <3

Watch our video below to see how we did it our family's reactions.



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page